Why It’s Important to Step Out of Your Comfort Zone Once in a While

Don’t you ever feel like smacking someone’s face when they talk to you while you’re too busy thinking to yourself? Well, I do. 8 out 10 times, I get so annoyed when I’m too busy daydreaming about my nonexistent love life with Patrick Schwarzenegger (I’m a delusional freak, I know) then people disturb me and force me to get out of my train of thoughts.

So when we had a new seating arrangement for the third term, I was more than happy to find out that my new seat gave me exactly what I wanted. My new place hindered some of my friends to talk to me because of the inconvenience it provided, by being too far off or by being too close to the teacher.

Not saying I hate people, but I swear I loved that place. Moreover, I got to stay incredibly close to the electric fan so to say my place was paradise for me would be an understatement.

After a week of enjoying and indulging in my comfort zone, it turns out that the new seating arrangement actually pissed my homeroom adviser off because it discouraged the unity of our class and all. Unfortunately, today I was transferred to a seat much more convenient for people to converse with me and where I would be forced to socialize with my peers, like majority of them.

Even though I considered that an unfortunate event, the entire day I spent in my new seat surprisingly was a blessing in disguise. I was really surprised because after getting out of my comfort zone and actually talking to people, I actually ended up being happy.

I got to reconnect with some of my classmates and I didn’t feel disturbed by them at all. The Lord used this experience for me to learn and internalize two things,

1. Getting out of your comfort zone can be beneficial sometimes and

2. My homeroom teacher was right.  LOL.

So to all selectively social freaks like myself, try getting out of that small bubble of yours. You’ll never know what the Lord has laid out for you when you’re always so engrossed in your own thoughts. Sometimes, even when it’s so freaking difficult (I TOTALLY KNOW HOW YOU FEEL), the one thing that you actually need is to pause and to stop thinking, even if it’s just for a few moments in your life.

Thea Zabala

One thought on “Why It’s Important to Step Out of Your Comfort Zone Once in a While

Leave a Reply

