For the Lonely, the Heartbroken and the Bitter Gourd This Valentine’s Day: There is Hope.

Let me tell you, there is no other occasion in the world that I could possibly hate as much as I despise February the freaking 14th. I hate seeing those lovey dovey couples being well, lovey-dovey. I hate seeing those stuffed animals on full display EVERYWHERE. And most of all, I absolutely hate (x10000000) the sight of fresh roses of all sizes on colors basically wherever I went.

I hate Valentine’s Day because it’s this constant reminder of the fact that I do not have a Valentine and that I have never, not even once in my life, had one.

And to my mother, if you are reading this, I knoooow I’m too young to even start thinking about those things but it’s so hard not to, especially since people my age are actually spending their Valentine’s Day with someone special.

Anyway yes, everyone who has known me for quite some time is fully aware of all the love I have for this spectacular event. On February the 14th, as expected, I woke up with a huge scowl on my face as I began to read my daily devotional.

However, the most beautiful thing in the world occurred as I realized that I, for once in my life and for the rest of my life too, had a Valentine now. I was able to fully understand and see that I am not alone and that Valentine’s Day is not a day for self-pity and complete annoyance.

All I could possibly do was laugh at myself as I almost felt like the Lord, Himself, gave me a pat on the back and said, “it’s okay, Thea. You are not alone because I Am here for you. I Am all the Love you’ll ever need.”

For the entirety of my life, I have become so pathetic as to think to myself, “I don’t want to become an old lady who lives alone with cats because I hate cats and I don’t want to be alone.” Seriously though, I obviously have issues.

I never realized how wrong it was to become embittered by a certain day about love because yet again, what is LOVE? As it is written in 1 John 4:10 (CEV),

“Real love isn’t our love for God, but His Love for us. God sent His Son to be the Sacrifice by which our sins are forgiven.”

By dreading the day of hearts and allowing myself to be filled with so much bitterness and anger, I am also forgetting that TRUE LOVE cannot be found in a love between a man and a woman nor between a mother and a child. The TRUEST LOVE anyone could ever find is Jesus’ death upon the cross for our sins.

Moreover, because The Lord already chose to die for me even while I was still a sinner, would He not be gracious enough to give me all the Love I could ever need? Would He deprive me of the very Thing by which He even refers to Himself sometimes?

Definitely not!

In the perspective of the world, I may be some lonely 17-year-old who might as well just go to the nunnery or something BUT in reality, I am a thousand times more blessed than any other girl with a date, chocolates and bouquet of flowers on this occasion.

My date on Valentine’s Day is not some guy who could possibly break my blood-pumping muscle anytime, my date is The King of all kings and The Lord of all lords.

So no, I am not anymore sad that Patrick Schwarzenegger and Miley Cyrus probably went out today because my God is a thousand times more handsome than any other existing human being on this planet.

And besides, I am absolutely certain now that the Lord is preparing and grooming the boy whom He has set for me and whom I would spent my Valentine’s Day with someday. I am a hundred percent sure that when the day finally comes for me to spend the time with the best man for me, it would be worth all of the waiting I have been doing.

Therefore, all you single ladies, put your hands up and give praise to The Lord instead of dwelling in your bitterness and self-pity. Stop fretting! Just keep looking upon the eyes of The Lord because He is ALWAYS at work. I pray that the Lord touches your heart through this and lastly but certainly not the least, happy Valentine’s Day, you guys!

Thea Zabala

Leave a Reply

