Top 10 Forgotten Musicians Millennials Need to Revisit

Since we are a generation being ruled by Drake, Kanye West and whatnot in the music department, I realized that it would be nice to share something a little different from the usual go-to playlist.

I’ve listened to these artists all my life and I just thought it would be interesting to share with my fellow millennials.

I mean, modern day music is alright and modern day artists are great but nothing will ever compare to the glorious magic vintage music can bring to the hearts of its listeners.

It’s quite sad that people barely listen to vintage music anymore so here’s a little tribute to my favorite artists of all time.

10. Peggy Lee

peggy-lee

Best 5: Fever, You Belong to Me, I’m Confessin’, A Kiss to Build a Dream On, Ole Buttermilk Sky

Peggy Lee was an American jazz singer, songwriter and composer among others. Although some of her songs (e.g. Ole Buttermilk Sky) were originally sang by other artists, there’s just something oddly alluring with the way her voice is projected through her music that will keep you coming back for more.

9. Andy Williams

andy-williams

Best 5: Can’t Get Used to Losing You, Moon River, Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You, Hopeless, A Fool Never Learns

Andy’s songs range from one genre to another. You’ll see that some of his pieces are similar to Frank Sinatra’s style while he also sang blues and Christian songs. My favorite among his pieces would definitely be Moon River.

8. Etta James

etta-james

Best 5: At Last, Sunday Kind of Love, Trust in Me, Lover Man (Oh Where Can He Be?), Something’s Got a Hold on Me

Etta James sang one of my most favorite songs of all time: At Last. Her powerful voice always manages to capture the intense emotions being projected in her songs. One of the best.

7. Dean Martin

dean-martin

Best 5: Volare (Nel Blu Di Pinto Di Blu), Nobody’s Baby Again, It Just Happened That Way, You’ll Always Be the One I Love, (Remember Me) I’m the One Who Loves You

Dean Martin was also an American singer but the music he sang varied in language. Volare is an Italian remake (originally sang by Domenico Modugno) but I’m sure you’d prefer his version. I know I do.

6. Mel Tormé

mel-torme

Best 5: Blue Moon, Poor Little Extra Girl, Comin’ Home Baby, L.A., I’ve Got You Under My Skin

I will always love Mel Tormé’s version of Blue Moon. He was an American jazz singer but he also sang songs of different genres.

5. Frank Sinatra

frank-sinatra

Best 5: Fly Me to the Moon, Love Walked In, The Way You Look Tonight, That’s Life, You Make Me Feel So Young

Frank Sinatra is the best mainly because he is Frank Sinatra. He’s the OG Michael Bublé and the best one at that.

4. Charles Aznavour

charles-aznavour

Best 5: Il Faut Savoir, For Me Formidable, Plus Bleu Que Tes Yeux, Oui, Je T’aime

Charles Aznavour is still alive and even I can’t believe that (I’m kidding!). My favorite would definitely be Il Faut Savoir because it perfectly encapsulates the image of a broken heart.
Il faut savoir rester de glace et taire un cœur qui meurt déjà.
(One must know to remain cold and hush about a heart that is dying.)

But for real, I will always love Charles Aznavour because his songs, even though majority of them are in French, are as phenomenal as his ability to withstand aging.

3. Billie Holiday

billie-holiday

Best 5: Gloomy Sunday, Stormy Weather, Say It Isn’t So, I’ll Be Seeing You, On the Sunny Side of the Street

I’m currently loving Stormy Weather as of the moment but let’s be honest, nobody can ever not like Billie Holiday’s songs. There’s something about her voice that would make you fall in love over and over again.

2. Nat King Cole

nat-king-cole

Best 5: Answer Me My Love, L-O-V-E, The Very Thought of You, Let’s Fall in Love, Love is a Many Splendored Thing

Nat King Cole makes me believe true love actually exists because all of his songs are so heartfelt and so meaningful. My current favorite is his version of The Very Thought of You. I really love the way he sings the lyrics to the song, especially these:

I see your face in every flower
Your eyes in stars above
It’s just the thought of you,
The very thought of you, my love

1. Edith Piaf

edith-piaf

Best 5: Milord, Padam Padam, Non Je Ne Regrette Rien, Paris, Les Amants de Paris

I don’t think there’s any other artist in the world who can ever be better than Edith Piaf. She was the original singer of La Vie En Rose which, I’m sure everyone has already heard. When I listen to Edith, I feel like I’m walking along the romantic streets of Paris. You’ll know what I’m talking about when you start to listen to her, too. 

Although not enough words would ever be enough to justify the astonishing beauty of these artists, this is the best that I could do. I hope you enjoyed!

Wanna check them out? Here’s a Spotify playlist for your benefit. 😉

Here’s a link to the playlist if it doesn’t work:  https://open.spotify.com/user/zabala.thea/playlist/1LnSI5bTZFpPGOcpnKlTKZ

Leave a Reply

